My Journey to the Blog


“A man may die, nations may rise and fall, but an idea lives on. Ideas have endurance without death.”

– John F. Kennedy

The first idea of starting a weblog (blog) came to me in 2006, during my Pune days. It was just a wild thought which couldn’t get passed through reality majorly due to my involvement with my job as an advertising professional, and secondarily and more importantly, due to my procrastination. However, the idea remained in mind and didn’t saw the light of the day.

It was during those days, my ex-colleague and now my friend inspired me to join Orkut. Orkut was my first encounter with a social-networking website, and it remained limited to its name – social-networking. Nevertheless, I find many reasons to stay there. The best was my lifeline: my friends. Thanks to the various online communities I found these ‘gems’ through.

Testimony by a friend on Orkut

Technology has a short life, and every successful start-up is followed by a chain of similar known and unknown endeavours. As Orkut’s charm started fading out, the inducement to get ‘more’ socially connected took me to Facebook. But even before I could get myself accustomed to it; it created walls of security around it. Locking and blocking became the new phenomenon of every social networker.

These sites divulged an attitude in people – to pretend. I never saw anyone being strict to themselves on any of these sites. They were an accurate example of Oscar Wilde’s belief: “Most people are other people. Their thoughts are someone else’s opinions, their lives a mimicry, their passions a quotation.”

Then came the 140 characters challenge: Twitter. It worked as a real micro-blog. Now, I was free to express my tiny feelings, ideas and concepts to numerous unknown people; and could share my viewpoint on ‘any’ matter. Yet, the idea to expressing self in a great way remained barren.

One fine day by the end of 2014, as a result of deep introspection, the fluid of adrenaline gushed through my veins that made me change the way I had led my life in the past one and half a decade. Many a thing transformed with the change in my thoughts, in my lifestyle. Now, I am here communicating through this blog.

My first post to this blog is my heartiest thanks and dedication to my beloved friend.

2 thoughts on “My Journey to the Blog

  1. Congrats on stepping into the world of writing and blogging. May you grow, enjoy this activity. Looking forward for more your posts everyday and I am your new admirer of your writings. Love.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

