My family My pride


brandcover

 

Theme:  Apno Ko Apne Dum Pe Jeena Sikhao. Write a blog post about how a family member has guided and encouraged you to grow into a better, more self-reliant person.

My father was a hardworking man of much knowledge but with no particular interest in his own life. He was there in my life from the day I was born. I have lots of influence of him in me. I keep recounting that day when he saved my life when I was about 2-3years old by making me habituated to regular food items as the baby food was not suiting me and I was forced to eat that which made me sick often by not having proper diet. I suppose, then, that I should feel grateful to my father for making his lifesaving decision to change my diet, gratitude on my part will always remain.

I do remember his method of toughening me up for life and making sure that I became self-reliant. I was seven years old, I was playing barefoot outside with my friends in the playground near to home, while my father stood talking to some neighbours. A small truck parked with sand was nearby, along with friends I climbed up the truck, burning my already burnt feet, I ran to my father, asking him to pick me up. He refused.

I screamed papa my feet are burning, I was hoping on one foot.

He replied go home, put your shoes, but he did not help me.

I ran home, cleaned my feet with cold water, wore shoes and got back to playing.

It’s been years this incident happened but I never asked my father why he did not help me or what his intention was.

I asked nothing of my father after that, which was perhaps his intention, and I grew up without his influence, which was perhaps not his intention.

A few weeks back, I took my nephew to the locality playground; he removed his shoes and played barefoot. The ground was getting a bit hot, and I asked my nephew if his feet were burning, he said yes, I immediately picked him up and told me my story.

My nephew never met his grandfather (my father) this was the first time he was told a story related to him, he immediately said Uncle you have a bad father. I explained him that he wasn’t a bad man, just a tough man. I spoke of other things and told my nephew that as a son, husband, father, head of the family, senior most member my father was all rounder – mentor, the trouble-shooter, the caretaker of his wife and 4 children.

I am now a grown up matured man, my father’s refusal to help me did have the effect that he wanted, in part. It toughened me up and made me more self-reliant. His approach was tough but if we think broadly, it made a positive influence on me.

I am a self-reliant person to understand what self-reliance truly means.

For more details of the amazing insurance plans specially designed by HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company Limited to make us live our life our way, apne dum pe, please visit http://www.hdfclife.com/. #MyFamilyMyPride ad film

This post has been written as a part of Indi Happy Hours’ #MyFamilyMyPride‘ in association with HDFC and Indiblogger

2 thoughts on “My family My pride

Leave a Reply

