Hug Your Dad (1)


My dad has been deceased for almost 28 years but I can still hear his voice. He was a projector of his verbal and physical self. He gave me a sense of backbone that has caused me to continue in his footsteps. My father was proud of me as I was of him. He taught me to respect myself and all people regardless of age, colour and creed. I sense him in my existence repeatedly. As Father Day approaches, I miss him very much. Had he lived to be today with me, he would have turned 75. He was a tough man to live with. He was strong, bold and intensely opinionated. But under the rough exterior he was a huge softy. He wasn’t perfect by any means, but he was my father. I think that even though I made mistakes, I could have done so much worse, if it hadn’t been for the fear of God that he instilled into me and my siblings. I love my dad so much and I feel, like most do, that I have the best dad in the world! My dad never had any mean bone in his body. He was such a kind hearted person, always smiling and he would help anyone who would call for help. He’s always tried his best to teach us little things here and there, which we’ll use in life. When I was a little kid I was his helper. Wherever he was, I was never far behind – being daddy’s boy to the mainstay. We used to visit my grandparents every week. On evenings, we’d sit out in the back yard, eat and make merry together. Every birthday he would buy me an extraordinary presents. I miss you so much Dad. He guided me at every step of the way, and I know that I’ve made him proud. My dad has been a brilliant father from day one. He has worked tremendously hard to provide the best he could for his family. Even though he had a hard time with showing his 4 kids his emotions of love, we never once doubted that love. I never would have believed that I would have had this chance to be a little boy again to my dad. He will never know the enthusiasm behind his gentle but strong words of reassure and encouragement. My dad is the greatest because he never left me behind but continued to watch from sky above over me and my brother and sisters with support.

“This father’s day, I am expressing my love towards my dad by participating in the #HugYourDad activity at BlogAdda in association with Vicks.”

Leave a Reply

