Join Ariel #ShareTheLoad to reduce gender prejudices in Gen Next! – (1)


My family feels happy that I am a part of them.  On Sunday or whenever I am off from work I make a point to help my mother/sister in the household chores such as cooking and laundry.

We have children in family and I feel it is very important to take in household chores in the daily routine to one and all irrespective of their gender as children would learn watching us. I have colleagues who make differences between male and female and say that a girl has to learn how to clean and cook or how else will she live on after getting married?

I always ask them what if tomorrow their son grows up to have a working wife where he will be eating canned food or has his clothes unwashed for weeks together. How would their sons’ get along in such situation? All I get it malicious comments from them.

Being a man, I do my own laundry and I don’t depend on my sister to do it for me. From a young age I learnt about separating the whites from the coloured clothes, the delicate from the rough, the amount of detergent and the duration of the washing machine. I do not dislike the traditional way of washing clothes by using a bucket, before the machine I did wash my own laundry in this way.  Seeing me do the household chores whenever possible, especially laundry, my mom and sister teases me to be a professional in it.

Not many families are as fortunate as mine to have a man setting a good example of sharing the load at home. Many mothers and sisters often complain that their sons and brothers just sit while they clean up the mess in the house, wash the clothes, put them to dry, fold them and keep them in the cupboards. I am glad I have no such things to hear.

What interests me is that doing household work increases the sense of self-assurance and responsibility of everyone at home including children. Whenever my nephews are at home, I make sure they help me in the work. I am lucky that the kid’s don’t say NO and are very much interested in learning and giving a helping hand.

My nephew is growing up fast, instead of ordering him, I tell him let us do this together and I explain him that it is for the family that we are doing this not for ourselves. In the past as I lived alone, I have a habit of scheduling my time to devote to household chores and now though I live with my family, I still do the same and I am passing the same habit to the younger generation. I strongly feel there has to be a transfer in the distribution of housework between family members. Every house has only one of its kind states of affairs but there needs to be a fundamental understanding when it comes to doing household chores.

Seeing me do my own laundry and helping women of the house in kitchen, my nephew feels no shame in helping me which are stereotyped to be ‘women’s jobs’. Washing clothes is not just a mother’s job; I have been able to make kids of my house understand this. I do make them involve in household tasks which I try to turn into enjoyable and appealing so that they learn while having fun.

I advise every man to become a role model for his own children or for the children of the family by sharing the load.

Please see this video, how would you feel as a man when you imagine 20 years ahead from today, you see your daughter or daughter in law doing all the work while her husband or your son sitting idle or watching TV while the woman runs around managing the kitchen, kids, laundry and her office work? Would you feel happy about what you taught them? It’s not too late; you can start now to #ShareTheLoad.

statistics-580x339

I am joining the Ariel #ShareTheLoad campaign at BlogAdda and blogging about the prejudice related to household chores being passed on to the next generation.

Leave a Reply

